What is a room closure
A room closure is a temporary block that you can put in a room for a certain range of dates so that it won't be available for booking during those days.
For example you can create a room closure for reasons like renovations, or block a room while waiting to add a reservation later.
If you want a room to be fully closed for the entire calendar forever, then rather than a room closure you will need to fully delete the room.
Note: A room closure reduces the availability sent to the channels for the closed room type. It does not apply a stop sell.
Create a room closure
To create a room closure:
Go to My Apps > Front Desk
Click on the Calendar tab
Click Room Closure
In the Room Closure Details pop-up window, select the physical room you plan to close. You can multi-select or search for multiple rooms or room types to close them all at once.
Set the Start date and End date (dates are inclusive)
Enter a Description for the room closure
Click Save
A Room Closure is shown in red on the Calendar tab.
Create a bulk room closure
You can close multiple rooms or entire room types at once to save time.
Method 1: From the Calendar grid
Go to My Apps > Front Desk
Click on the Calendar tab
Click and drag across a date/room cell
Click Room Closure
The room is pre-selected - select or search for additional rooms or room types if needed
Set Start date and End date, enter a Description, and click Save
Method 2: Using the Room Closure button
Go to My Apps > Front Desk
Click on the Calendar tab
Click Room Closure at the top right
Multi-select or search for rooms/room types
Set Start date and End date, enter a Description, and click Save
Note: Bulk room closure is not currently available in the mobile app. Existing room closures created before February 2026 can only be edited one room at a time.
Edit or re-open a room closure
Reopening a room closure will increase the room availability of the room type in your inventory. It does not remove a stop sell.
To edit or reopen a room closure:
Go to My Apps > Front Desk
Click on the Calendar tab
Click on the room closure bar (in red) that you want to edit or reopen. A pop-up window will appear
Click Edit to change the details of the room closure i.e. dates and click Save. Or,
click Reopen Room to open the room and click OK to confirm.
The room will now be added to your available inventory.
If a room is still not bookable on a channel after you reopen it, a stop sell may have been applied separately in Channel Manager. Check My Apps > Channel Manager > Inventory for any stop sells on the affected dates and rates.
Difference between room closure and close channels
Room Closure and Close Channels both prevent bookings, but they work in different ways.
Room Closure reduces the availability sent to your channels for the closed room types. It removes a physical room from your inventory across all channels and your Little Hotelier booking engine. Use this for reasons like renovations, or to block a room for exclusive reservations.
Close Channels applies a stop sell to a rate plan across all channels (OTAs) at once, including your booking engine. Use this when you want to stop all bookings for a rate plan without removing physical room availability.
Availability thresholds for room types
Note: Your rooms can also close automatically due to availability thresholds:
Your Availability threshold is the lowest number of rooms you want to be left available before it triggers an automatic closure of channels and your direct booking engine, applying Close channels and Close website in your Inventory, which prevents further bookings from being made for the affected date.
How to set an availability threshold
To set an availability threshold for a room type:
Open Little Hotelier Front Desk
Go to Setup tab
Click on Rooms & Rates
Click Edit on the room type
Enter a value in the Availability threshold field
Room Rates under this Room Type will be stop sold when availability reaches this threshold.

